Aldi scares me

Aldi is a discount grocery chain that we have around here.  I’m not sure how nationwide they are to tell you the truth but they originated in Germany.  They cut their costs by charging a quarter for shopping carts, not having sackers and charging you if for grocery bags.  All of which I’m perfectly fine with especially since every time I’ve gone shopping there I’ve only bought a few items .  Even if I did major shopping there I’d be fine with it.  But that’s not what scares me.

The customers scare me.

I had worked grocery for 10+ years and I’ve kinda got a feel for the best times to go to enjoy a great shopping experience.  Not at Aldi.  One of the ways they cut costs is having a smaller store.  The aisles are a little bit closer together and almost seem like they’re meant to be one-way.  The front doors open up directly into an aisle where you immediately encounter a customer complaining about having to pay for their shopping cart.  Thus the log jam begins.  If you’re lucky you won’t encounter any families while shopping there.  It seems I’m never lucky.  It’s like if you combined Dawn of the Dead with Pacman.  Ugh.

Ok, I’m just ranting.  Yesterday was the third time where I’ve gone to Aldi to buy something I saw in their ad and became so frustrated dealing with customers that I just gave up and left.  I’m perfectly fine with the idea  of paying for carts and bags to save some money.  I’ve never had a problem with any of their employees and the products that I’ve bought there have always been good.  So, Aldi, I’ve come to realize I don’t really hate and fear you.

I just hate the human race.  Blah.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

