Love’s musical post part 8

September 11th, 2001.  A day we all will remember.

And the first time I ever sang karaoke.

My last long term relationship had fallen apart and I had bounced around a few places after moving out.  I was staying in a strange apartment used more for sleep than anything else.  Heck, I had to use a fold out couch for my bed because the room was so small that a normal bed wouldn’t fit.  I was working at Albertson’s  at the time and a few nights a week as a bouncer at a crummy dive bar with no cute patrons.

The night before I was sent home early from the bar.  Since I had the next day off I went to downtown Fort Worth because I knew some friends were at a club.  A club that was FOUR CLUBS IN ONE!!!  We closed down three of those four clubs and I went home expecting to sleep well into the afternoon.  That didn’t happen.

For some reason I woke up early and turned on the radio.  Sports Radio 1310 the Ticket, but they weren’t talking sports.  They were talking about how a small one to two person plane had hit one of the Twin Towers.  Well, that’s not what had really happened and we all know the rest of that story.  As for my story…

I went and gave blood that day and then gathered up a few friends.  And found out where my ex was going to be that night.  When you’re young it’s really easy to convince yourself you can get them back.  Especially when you’re lacking blood and had a few beers.

So we ended up at a bar that was known for cars getting broken into and the cops harassing the patrons as they left.  For karaoke night.  You can see where this is going can’t you…  I was sure I could get her back with a well sung tune on this emotional day and she and I would get married and live happily ever after.

I guess I picked the wrong song.

Or it was the fact I really sucked at singing it.

Oh well, life went on.  She married the guy she was there with and I never got to slash his tires.  Dern it.  But I did move out of that apartment shortly after and embarked on another dumb part of my life.

So what song that could have tipped the balance for me did I horribly butcher?  Why One by Three Dog Night!  Here you go:

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment